Jeff S Rrt

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
| map-marker Salt Lake City, Utah

Partial and faulty install

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Vivint - Partial and faulty install
Vivant only partially installed our system. Most of the indoor cameras fo not record activity. There is no way to record 24/7. The thermostat doesn't work. The doorbell doesn't record activity. The outdoor cameras were never installed. Customer service says they will not finish the install. If I remove the products myself, I can't receive a refund since I canceled. Now, 5 days later, during winter, I have no doorbell, and no functioning thermostat. The panel they installed doesn't work with half my vivant products. There is no end in sight for my situation. I have spent several hours on hold with customer service with no resolution in sight. I can't even hire a new security company to install a new system, or I'll be stuck buying thousands in overpriced products that don't function. Each time I call customer service, they send me an email saying I agreed to some add-on and contract extension, charging more each month. This, despite the fact that I signed a cancelation agreement. I think I just need a lawyer at this point.
View full review
Loss:
$2300
Cons:
  • No full time camera footage
  • New panel incompatible with most products
  • No response to alarms

Preferred solution: Compensation for lost work or 17 hours, release from contract to remove their system and return it

User's recommendation: Don't do it

Simrpriet K Mxo

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Vallejo, California

Camera service at home

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Vivint - Camera service at home
Vivint - Camera service at home - Image 2
I'm having this camera service from long time, it's a horrible company I ever in my entire life in rolled with. I request already multiple times. This is continuously happening to my property because of this company, I am not able to switch mine service to other company because they are threatening me to pay the remaining balance of the four-year agreement. Why I am liable to pay when you are not able to provide me a good service. I sign up for 24 /7 camera security at my house, are you providing me 24 /7 service. Due to this company and the service. My security is being challenged. From six-month my camera is not working and after complaining multiple times these people are sleeping they don't really care what is happening to the property. Only what the care is monthly installment is coming to their account, that's about it. After complaining to be BBB, they attempted to call me ones, that's about it. I called them multiple time after that on the number. No response at all. No one call me back after that. These people are very irresponsible and fake company.
View full review
Loss:
$1700
Pros:
  • We will send a technician in they will help resolve the issue
Cons:
  • Full refund

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Don’t enroll with this company. If you are home I don’t think you need a camera. You need a camera when you’re not home and you can operate it and you can see you what is going on at your home

Darrel P Hkm

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Exceptional Poor Service and Absolute Liars

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
May 20th, 2019, a day of my life I wish I had back. I purchased my new home that had an existing Vivent alarm system set up in it already. I called Vivent because I wanted to add another outdoor camera and get the newest panel they had, while transferring the system into my name. The sales rep came out, promised me it would be $97.77 per month for 24 months, then $39.99 for the remaining 36 months. It is now 52 months in & they are still charging me the original $97.77 Calls to customer service are just a transfer party. Today alone I have spoken to Shane, Drake, Melissa, Timothy, Madeline and Vanessa and am STILL waiting to speak to the manager to get this resolved. Seems the Sales rep and installation technician, who by the way have been terminated for deceitful practices, charged me for the entire system. I have been paying for equipment I already owned. I've called them a few times to find out why the payment hasn't adjusted yet, and I keep getting the response "ill have a manager call you back". In 24 months, it has not happened yet. Today, after yet another broken promise, I called and insisted I was canceling my account. I have been sent to every department except cancelations. On my last transfer, the young lady didn't even speak English. I am determined to NOT give up, and will see this through. The phone call has lasted 105 minutes so far... They tried to tell me I have signed a contract, yet I never received said contract, either in print or electronically. I record ALL of my conversations (legal in my state for one party acknowledgement), and they have admitted it is entirely their mistake, yet they want ME to pay for it. In my state, once you sign a contract, the "company" has 21 days to get you a copy of said signed contract. This has never happened. They have violated their own agreement/contract. Giving is a despicable company that lies through its teeth about everything, and then just gives you the run around until you get so exhausted you just either hang up or quit trying. I am determined to see this through. I am determined to get this lying, deceitful, thieving company out of my life. As of September 12th, 2023, I have been overcharged $1,619.84. I have spent approximately 19 hours and 30 minutes (so far) on the phone trying to get this resolved. I plan on billing them for my time. This is absolutely ridiculous
View full review
Loss:
$2
Cons:
  • Deceitful
  • Thieves
  • Cheats

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: STAY AWAY - FAR AWAY - LIARS, CHEATS, THIEVES......

Sue G Zen

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Springfield, Illinois

Poor service

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
we started with Vivint 4 years ago. Gradual the sensors failed. First the water sensor, then one door sensor, then another door sensor and finally the last 2 failed. We waited until our new doors were installed & called to set it up. after an hour with a service person that was difficult to understand, she finally said we had to have a service person come out for $99 (apparently after the first year or so, they dont cover service). When he came, he told us our sensors werent theirs, just the magnets were. we told him Vivint did the setup, but he was adamant that the sensors werent theirs. we td him to cancel the whole thing, talked to their people on the phone to pay off Vivint & the bank that financed the equipment. We told him to take all their equipment but since we had paid it off it was ours. $230 to the bank & $136 to Vivint to close the account on 9/21. Imagine my surprise to see a Vivint charge for $147 to our bank. Now they say its the $99 useless service charge & the charge for October, but that will be refunded after 30 days from when we closed the account. THEY ARE CROOKS!
View full review
Loss:
$147
Cons:
  • Equipment malfunctions

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Don’t use Vivint

James S Drq

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Dereliction of duty (by you)

Vivint - Dereliction of duty (by you)
Updated by user Aug 07, 2023

Scheduled technician to look at faulty equipment. Technician didn't show up.

Updated by user Jul 29, 2023

Keep getting calls from vivint. They hire entitled, easily offended phone staff who simply end the call. This is how vivint prolongs the opportunity to steal your money.

Original review Jul 29, 2023
Last winter while out of country a waterline in my home burst. When by chance, the person I left with my keys, checked on the home. Your water sensor was floating in water. Either your equipment, monitoring, staff - probably all three - are faulty. You have yet to even offer to have a "technician" inspect your non serviceable equipment. You instead have your easily offended - probably millenial - staff call me and harass me for payment of your NON-service. You even had then try to fool me into paying by claiming it was for another residence. This tells me you have your fat greedy fingers in all the pots. It is you Vivint who is at fault. It is you therefore, whom is indebted to me. I owe you nothing. Contact me when you schedule to have your equipment removed from my home. You have voided any contract
View full review
Loss:
$5000
Cons:
  • Quite ignorant

Preferred solution: Full refund

John S Bwq

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Camera Offline, Horrible Customer Service

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Oct 22, 2023

They are proud of building security systems that don’t work. The Attorney General needs to be notified of there reckless business practices.

Original review Sep 22, 2023
Every week something is wrong with this system, followed by an interaction with a smart mouthed, young dummy to help ruin the process even more. You will not be secure at all as the camera is always offline or something needs to constantly be rebooted. I have been lied to by every single person I interacted with at this company and they hate Veterans as well. Spend your patriotic money somewhere else.
View full review
Cons:
  • Unreliable equipment with bad customer service

Preferred solution: Price reduction

User's recommendation: Stay Away

Roosevelt W Nna

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

DONT US THIS COMPANY

THIS IS THE ABSOLUTE WORSE COMPANY TO GET INVOLVED WITH STAY AWAY FROM THEM YOULL BE CHARGED FOR STUFF HIDDEN AND OVER PRICED AND THEY ARE NOT WILLING TO HELP THEIR CUSTOMERS. BEWARE EVERYONE
View full review
Loss:
$4000
Pros:
  • Complete rip off
Cons:
  • Complete rip off

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: STAY AWAY

Resolved
Abree Jzd

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Resolved: Billing me after cancellation

Updated by user Oct 21, 2023

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with apology.

Original review Sep 20, 2023
Vivint is a sub par security company at best. Their technology is mediocre and holds no value once you're out of their contract. After I provided a written cancellation letter per their company policy, I was billed for 3 consecutive months. After many phone calls they finally have stopped billing me. They have yet to reimburse me the unauthorized charges after cancellation. I spoke with several reps that stated they would resolve the issue but nothing was done. The audacity of Vivint is that they are now calling me to sell me a new deal while they still owe me money. I have filed a complaint to the State Attorney General. Stay away from this slimeball company.
View full review
Loss:
$400
Cons:
  • Poor customer service
  • Unauthorized charges
  • Mediocre equipment

User's recommendation: Buy a gun or go with ADT

Angelnette T

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Remiremont, Grand Est

Vivint customer service and in service has been terrible. They do not follow through and give you equipment that does not work. The customer service is terrible.

Updated by user Sep 25, 2023

Nothing has changed. Nothing has been done.

Original review Sep 18, 2023
Vivint is money driven only. The level of service they provide is not important. They do not care about the quality of service that is given you. I have had nothing but trouble after over 10 years of service. Now all I get is *** service and a *** system. They used to be better than this.
View full review

Preferred solution: Complete working equipment, better quality of equipment and better service.

User's recommendation: Shop around and find people that stand behind what they sale and promise you.

Jacqueline L Hpc

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Salt Lake City, Utah

Deceptive sales representative

Vivint sales representative told me 60 and older could try the service for 30 days after 20 days I called to cancel and they refused to cancel saying I only had 3 days I was leaving the following day for vacation and wasn't going to be there the next 3 days and told him
View full review
Loss:
$3200
Cons:
  • Deceptive sales practice

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Do not trust Vivint sales representative

Anonymous
map-marker Gillette, Wyoming

Stay Away From Vivint

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

My panel modem was not connecting to cell towers in my area. I was out of my contract and had been happy with them so after talking to them and being promised to be reimbursed I agreed to be on a waiting list.

Well I ended up cancelling my account after giving up on them getting me equipment I could count on. And guess what they wont give me my money back. Stay away from this fake horrible company. And looking back they knew my panel wasn't working right and couldn't be counted on by the alerts they got.

But they didn't give a *** about my family. All they care about is money.

Vivint Reply:
Vivint thanks this customer for their feedback and for taking the time to submit a review with Pissed Consumer. We were able to review the customer’s account in regards to the problems that they have been having. After further review of the customer’s account we are showing the following information.
In regards to the customers system being down for several months, Vivint requires that all customers perform a system test every 30 days to make sure there are no problems with the system. In the event that the customer notices a problem with the system they are always encouraged to reach out to our customer care department either by calling, chatting, or sending an email so that we can resolved the problem the customer is experiencing.
In the event that a customer has experienced a problem with the system and they are not able to utilize all of the features of the system we want to make sure and get the system working. Once we are able to resolve the problems we are able to credit the customer back for the time the system was not functioning but the customer was paying for the system. We are showing that the customer has been credited and refunded for the time they were not able to use the system.
If the customer still has any questions or concerns they are encouraged to contact our customer care department at (800) 216-5232 and they will be able to further assist.
View full review
Cons:
  • Having my loyalty backfire
  • Being lied to
Reason of review:
Not as described/ advertised
Loss:
$200
Anonymous
map-marker New London, Missouri

Awful Everything but Monitoring

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

We moved from California to Missouri in Aug 2013 and let Vivint know we moved. Since we had a rental house we couldn't really restart in Mo.

Vivint started up the service at our old house at 409 Mavis Ct in Ridgecrest, CA. and still made us pay for it instead of calling us to find out what was going on! Also, they make you pay for one more month after you cancel your service! They're not even apologetic about this either because they say it is in the contract!

That extra money they made me pay is going to be multiplied x 1000 with all the people I will turn away from Vivint. I work for a company that employs over 100,000 people in the US.

Vivint Reply:
Vivint thanks this customer for their feedback and for taking the time to submit a review with Pissed Consumer. We were able to review the customer’s account in regards to the problems that they have been having. After further review of the customer’s account we are showing the following information.
The customer was installed with Vivint on January 28th of 2011 with a 48 month agreement which would place the end date January of 2015. In order to cancel the customer would need to contact Vivint up to 90 days prior but no later than 30 days prior to the requested date of cancellation.
The customer contacted Vivint August 4th of 2014 in regards to moving to Missouri, at that time the customer was presented with different options in regards to either moving the system, renewing the agreement and moving the system, or cancelling the agreement completely. The customer informed the customer loyalty agent that they would speak with the land lord at the new residence and then call back after making a decision.
The customer next contacted Vivint on January 10th of 2015 stating that they had been trying to cancel the account and they were now past due. The customer had not made any payments from August until January causing them to be past due. The customer again requested to be cancelled at that point and we were able to cancel out the account.
At this time the customer’s account with Vivint has been cancelled they have a $0 balance on the account and are under no further obligation to Vivint. If they have any further questions they can contact our award winning customer care department at (800) 216-5232 and they are available 24/7.
View full review
Pros:
  • Quality
  • Service
Cons:
  • Customer service
  • Harassing calls afterwards
  • Cancellation policy
Reason of review:
Poor customer service
Loss:
$464
Preferred solution:

Price reduction

Anonymous
map-marker El Paso, Texas

Vivint Service..... ????

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I am really happy w/their service for 4 month now, in El Paso, but today 2/22/15, the service is dead and there is NO Cust. Service to answer calls at 855-881-****.

I switched on the spot when they came because I was tired w/Att and TimeWarner bad service, bat internet speeds and not constant speeds of up to 15 Mps., but w/Vivint I was getting consistently speeds of 90plus up/down w/wired connection to modem and w/my laptop wirelessly around 40 dwn/75 up... not bad for $55/mo.

Now, I don't know what to think yet since I am out now for 4 hours and there is no one to answer the calls.

Writing this review thanks to my TMobile HotSpot

Vivint Reply:
Vivint thanks this customer for their feedback and for taking the time to submit a review with Pissed Consumer. We were able to review the customer’s account in regards to the problems that they have been having. After further review of the customer’s account we are showing the following information.
We are showing that the customer experienced a disruption in the wireless service, however the problem has since been resolved and the customer should be able to use the internet at the speeds provided. If they have any other questions or concerns the customer is encouraged to contact out wireless support team at (855) 881-3385.
View full review
Pros:
  • Blazing speeds
Cons:
  • No help with internet is dead
Reason of review:
Poor customer service
Loss:
$200
Preferred solution:

Deliver product or service ordered

Anonymous
map-marker San Jose, California

Avoid at all cost!

Made the biggest mistake by choosing Vivint and now I'm regretting every minute of it!!! They have horrible customer service.

Got lured in by their door-to-door salesman. It was a complete scam. I should have been smarter about it and not fallen for the trap. I'm so glad my contract with them is almost over.

DIY kits seem to be the way to go. I did some digging up on good DIY systems and came across Armorax. They're fairly new but have really good reviews. Might give them a try.

Avoid Vivint at all cost! It is not worth the hassle.

Vivint Reply:
Vivint thanks this customer for their feedback and for taking the time to submit a review with Pissed Consumer. We were able to review the customer’s account in regards to the problems that they have been having with their Vivint system.
We are unable to locate the customer’s account with the information they have supplied. If they could send us the account number or the phone number attached to the account we will be able to further review and resolve any problems the customer is having.
View full review
Reason of review:
Poor customer service
Cabot Sey

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Pensacola, Florida

Vivint - Digital Thermostat Review from Pensacola, Florida

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I've been with Vivint for a little over a month now. I had a digital thermostat installed and all seemed to be fine until the heater didn't come on.

Called hvac and was told that thermostat wasn't wired properly and caused transformer to blow. Still no heat. Called vivint. Took 2 days for them to send an hvac person.

After his arrival, it was reported that my compressor was blown due to their wiring of the thermostat. Are you kidding me?! The vivint rep told the hvac guy to leave and that it wasn't their responsibility.

The hvac guy said it was wrong what they did and that we'll see them in court. So now I have no unit, a high electric Bill cause the unit was running the whole time without a fan blowing, and vivint is claiming no responsibility.

Vivint Reply:
Vivint thanks this customer for their feedback and for taking the time to submit a review with Pissed Consumer. We were able to review the customer’s account in regards to the problems that they have been having with their Vivint system.
In regards to the problems the customer has experienced with the Vivint thermostat and the problems that followed with the HVAC unit its self, I am showing that the Home Damage department has been working with the customer in regards to the HVAC problems and has sent multiple local companies to diagnose the problem. Home Damage is also working with a the customer and the HVAC company to get the system replaced due to the system malfunction that has occurred.
If the customer has any further questions or concerns regarding the thermostat they are encouraged to contact our Home Damage department and they will be able to further assist the customer in regards to this problem.
View full review
Reason of review:
Bad quality
Anonymous
map-marker New Braunfels, Texas

Vivint - Security System Review from New Braunfels, Texas

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I had an alarm put in my business with the door lock key panel back in August of 2013. The salesman basically said they did not have a business license in Texas at that time so they where setting it up as a residential.

I explained to him that our lease was up and we were moving our business at some point. Well the install went wrong the install guy fell through the ceiling and damaged out only bathroom for our customers and employees. It took a few weeks before the repairs were actually approved. They offered me a completely free service call service and a free move without a contract renewal.

Fast forward I contact Vivint and explain the free move I was promised without renewal and the try to convince me to extend and offered me another key pad dead bolt and an additional camera. Well first off I gave them 3 weeks notice of the move and they could not get a tech out until a week after we move our business. A week worth of no security and it's my business!!!! Next the icing of the cake.

Tech comes out and now they are saying they can't install a deadbolt keypad because we are a business. The only reason I signed up for this company was because that feature was being used to allow tow truck drivers and customers in my building to drop off keys. Now even though my service has been downgraded I'm still paying double than what I was paying for my old alarm system. I talked to their retention department that didn't want to talk to me until I sent in a formal cancellation letter.

They couldn't tell me whether are not I was going to have to pay for the entire remainder of the contract even though they can't provide the services I originally agreed to. This company only cares about the money.

Needless to say I would not go through with canceling because I knew they charge my bank account for 18 months of downgraded service. I will be leaving when my contract is over and I will make sure New Braunfels businesses will be fully aware of the company.

Vivint Reply:
Vivint thanks this customer for their feedback and for taking the time to submit a review with Pissed Consumer. We were able to review the customer’s account in regards to the problems that they have been having with their Vivint system.
In regards to the installation of the Vivint system we are showing that the problems caused that the install technician falling through the ceiling have been resolved by our home damage department and everything has been repaired. Vivint apologizes for the delay in the relocation of the customers system we strive to make sure customers are taken care of in a timely manner. In the event that a customer system was down for an extended period of time we can do what is called a down time credit for the time the customer was not able to utilize the system.
We are not able to install certain pieces of equipment due to it being a business installation such as smoke detectors, or door locks for legal reasons. Vivint apologizes for any confusion regarding those types of equipment. However the customer was able to speak with our customer loyalty department in regards to not being able to have a door lock and they worked out a deal where the customer would be getting additional cameras instead of the door locks.
If the customer has any further questions or concerns in regards to their system they are encouraged to contact our customer care department at (800) 216-5232 and they will be able to further assist.
View full review
Reason of review:
Poor customer service

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article