Most helpful review
New Reviewer
Update by user Jul 28, 2015

I'm still with Vivint for now, but it hasn't been an easy journey. In the time I've been with Vivint I've had so many outages that required me to wait multiple days without internet to get a technician to my house. I've only survived because I used my phone as a hotspot...

View full review
View full review
51 comments
#1382046

I live in El Paso, TX and I don’t recommend vivint. Their internet is unreliable and refuse to give you credit for all the days you have no internet.

I switched to spectrum and couldn’t be happier. I regret not getting spectrum before.

View more comments
Resolved
ID
#521011 Review #521011 is a subjective opinion of poster.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Scammers

I signed up with Vivint, they "upgraded" my camera in 2020, when I mentioned it was the same camera, the installer stated it was an upgrade, We moved in July 2021, and live in a different state. They have been billing me 75 dollars a month since. I just got off the phone with Vivint, that said I still owe them $4500 for the upgrade!!! They are SCAMMERS in disguise!!!!stay away from Vivint

User's recommendation: Stay away from Vivint.

View full review
ID
#3542313 Review #3542313 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Springfield, Missouri
Loss
$4500
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

UNETHICAL PRACTICES AS FAR AS UPGRADING YOUR SYSTEM

unable to sign in to my account added camera to my back told i would pay for the camera in installment with monthly pay now cannot they are telling me they cant approve payment plan the plan was 3monthly payments then changed to 5 payments now they are telling me that i was not eligable for the 5 paymedts the camera is already installed thats poor business practices i will file a complaint with the BBB

User's recommendation: IF UPGRADING PAY FOR YOUR UPGRADING UPFRONT A VERY GOOD SYSTEM HAS SOME FLAWS NEEDS TO BE FIXED WHY INSTALL A CAMER IF NOT APPROVRED FOR PAYMENT [PLAN.

View full review
ID
#3523346 Review #3523346 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Birmingham, Alabama
Loss
$499
Preferred solution
MY PAYMENT CONTINUED
New Reviewer

I have had nothing but *** luck with Vivint. The customer service at times, I might as well be talking to a wall.

ThI'm very very dissatisfied with this company. I'm half tempted to just close up my bank account. They have been of no help even if people getting in. What a security system. The camera doorbell. A piece of junk. People get past it. I wouldn't even go with this company. This is the second time that I went with them but never again. I just kept my other equipment seeing how they don't give you anything for it. And they said that it was outdated.T

User's recommendation: Think twice before you sign on. The worst mistake. Should have went with AT&T.

View full review
ID
#3487350 Review #3487350 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Loss
$500

Horrible Customer Service

Technician was supposed to come install the system between the 4 hour block of 0800-12noon. Not a call. Received a call at 12:46pm that technician was arriving in 30 min.No wonder they have horrible reviews. DO NOT USE VIVINT. NOT RECOMMENDED.

User's recommendation: DO NOT USE VIVINT.

View full review
ID
#3346657 Review #3346657 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Hialeah, Florida

Return equipment don't need it

I just talked to Viviint customer service Bree I was told to pay them $2000 dollars and cancel my service or use it basically I never used any equipment still in the box that it came in we have a security system why do I need 2 systems I just wanted to return their equipment Never again my first and last time
View full review
ID
#3321595 Review #3321595 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Baltimore, Maryland

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

UNHAPPY

By far the worst experience I ever had with a service related Business. Does not offer any technician to come and fix problems or issues..All done over phone and The customer has to fix all their issies which is not limited to climbimg ladders tracing wires and installs..HORRIBLE

User's recommendation: DONT USE VIVANT!

View full review
ID
#3293904 Review #3293904 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Queens, New York
Cons
  • Service
Loss
$5000
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
I need to know the address. I want to file a lawsuit against Vivint
I need to know the address. I want to file a lawsuit against Vivint
I need to know the address. I want to file a lawsuit against Vivint
On January 12, 2022 Vivint took $1,943.13 out my banking account without my permission. That was my mortgage money. Which I was late paying because I didnt have the money in my account. I call Vivint to see why they did that. When my plan was changed $600 for the...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3268611 Review #3268611 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
I would like $2,000 for all I been through. And for them taking money out my account without my permission having me to be late on my mortgage in the rest of my bills. And the stree that I went through

Cancel poor review - problem has been resolved

Cancel poor review. The issue has been resolved to my satisfaction. I do not wish to post this review.
View full review
ID
#3252563 Review #3252563 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Denver, Colorado

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Unable to cancel service

We moved from a home in Fort Worth, TX to a high-rise condo in Denver. Vivint is not an option in the new high-rise. We cancelled service in November 2021, and I have an email of that transaction. However, Vivint continues to bill us each month. I have called customer service and sent a letter to the president showing the email and explaining that the rep who sold us the service said we could cancel if we moved and the new address did not allow Vivint service. To no avail.

User's recommendation: Do not sign up for this service. It's not that great and the only goal of the company seems to be to upsell you on more expensive equipment. Plus you can never cancel for any reason.

View full review
ID
#3249347 Review #3249347 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Denver, Colorado
Loss
$89
Preferred solution
Cancel service

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
We terminated our contract when moving to another city last February. Paid off my balance in full. Started getting late notices from them a few months later. Talked to them several time and they assured me it was paid off from our auto bank draft. Yet, they turned me...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3213012 Review #3213012 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
San Antonio, Texas
Product
Vivint Account
Cons
  • Lack of resoution
Preferred solution
I WANT THEM TO RECALL THE COLLECTION AGENCY TO VERIFY I WAS NEVER DELEQUANT.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
Avoid I had vivint from 2012 to 2019. I was satisfied with the security. To be honest I don't know if it was good or bad we never needed it. February 2019, I moved from the home where we had vivint. At that point the bill was completely paid and since there was no...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3130008 Review #3130008 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$299
Preferred solution
I would like the bill resolved without affecting my credit.
Once again, the technician could not solve the problems with their own system. Promised to have someone to come back, never happened over past several weeks. Continually wants to be paid for a security system that has not worked for over 3many months. Thieves and...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2118757

I have been having the same issues. After calling (5) separate times regarding cancellation and refund for the property sold in November 2021.

Each Associate I spoke with had different answers. Called because Vivint took out the amount of $99.46 for both properties after confirming my request of cancellation that I was entitled to after December 16th per Associate I spoke with on 12/10/2021. Spoke with a Brooklyn 01/10/2022, who assured me she would take full responsibility for the mistakes made previously. Had to call back on 01/14/2022, because I received an email stating that my cancellation had been denied.

When I received email dated 11/17/2021 that it was confirmed. They kept asking for the code given to me from bank, in which I financed my equipment for our brand-new home in Topping, VA we had built in 2018. We thought we were doing something good by going with Security provider we already had experience with. However, they could not seem to understand that we had two accounts.

When we acquired the new service for the additional home, they turned off the Richmond properties services and offered a new doorbell as an apology for disconnecting the services. They stated that they thought it was a transfer. Services were restored and I didn't have a contract for the Richmond property because we were going to move to the current property as soon as we were able to sell during the Pandemic. It goes to show my loyalty meant nothing to Vivint [2010] I then spoke with a Wilson, who didn't care about me or how long I'd been with the Company, and he didn't try going over the notes telling me when I requested a supervisor, that they were all in a meeting.

Hung up called back and spoke with a young lady who then transferred me to John, a Team leader/Supervisor.

He tried to tell me I had a contract on the Richmond Property and that to make it go away he would do away with the contract and not refund me my money. Then he advised he would escalate it and it would take 24-48 hours for them to make a decision.

ID
#3129648 Review #3129648 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Snyder, Texas

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
On 05-21-2021 I finalized my notice of cancellation as required by Vivint and returned email to same - Vivint sent a return receipt of my email to me indicating it was read of 06-19-2021. Vivint has kept taking money from my account until this month and sent an email...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2118759

I have been having the same issues. After calling (5) separate times regarding cancellation and refund for the property sold in November 2021.

Each Associate I spoke with had different answers. Called because Vivint took out the amount of $99.46 for both properties after confirming my request of cancellation that I was entitled to after December 16th per Associate I spoke with on 12/10/2021. Spoke with a Brooklyn 01/10/2022, who assured me she would take full responsibility for the mistakes made previously. Had to call back on 01/14/2022, because I received an email stating that my cancellation had been denied.

When I received email dated 11/17/2021 that it was confirmed. They kept asking for the code given to me from bank, in which I financed my equipment for our brand-new home in Topping, VA we had built in 2018. We thought we were doing something good by going with Security provider we already had experience with. However, they could not seem to understand that we had two accounts.

When we acquired the new service for the additional home, they turned off the Richmond properties services and offered a new doorbell as an apology for disconnecting the services. They stated that they thought it was a transfer. Services were restored and I didn't have a contract for the Richmond property because we were going to move to the current property as soon as we were able to sell during the Pandemic. It goes to show my loyalty meant nothing to Vivint [2010] I then spoke with a Wilson, who didn't care about me or how long I'd been with the Company, and he didn't try going over the notes telling me when I requested a supervisor, that they were all in a meeting.

Hung up called back and spoke with a young lady who then transferred me to John, a Team leader/Supervisor.

He tried to tell me I had a contract on the Richmond Property and that to make it go away he would do away with the contract and not refund me my money. Then he advised he would escalate it and it would take 24-48 hours for them to make a decision.

ID
#3108266 Review #3108266 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
North Richland Hills, Texas
Pros
  • Non
Cons
  • Lie about their service
Loss
$501
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

I had great help on resolving my problem. System wasn't connected.

I had a genie garage door opener installed last year as I could not get the app to do it. Apparently, it's okay for now and the system is working fine. It's a good thing I know what a router is!
View full review
ID
#3106842 Review #3106842 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Carlisle, Kentucky
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer
I Have tried to cancel my security service with Vivint since February, it is November 16th and still no progress. I have spoken with several customer service agents and no one can seem to help. They continue to say someone will contact me within 7 days and i am still...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2111474

I, too, think Vivint sucks. I originally ordered one of Vivint's CarGuard units, but instead sales doubled down and sent me TWO of the sucking products.

There was ZERO information on what cars they would, or even could work -on. It took well over a month to contact anyone from Vivint who knew What they were doing, and I could finally return the products. Prior to that no one knew how to send an email to me. To make a long story short., I received an email indicating a credit was given.

After checking their website, there is no indication any credit was given, nor did I receive any information, as far as I can find, as to what that credit provided and was and when. They are still attempting to charge me approx.

$800.00. I keep wondering if anyone there Knows much about Customer Service or what training they don't provide to their Call Center personnel Thank you, J Ervin

ID
#3072478 Review #3072478 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Franklin, Kentucky
Pros
  • Product
Cons
  • Horrible cancellation and customer service
Loss
$285
Preferred solution
Full refund

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article