New Reviewer

Not happy with installation

The representative was not honest , he stated he was going to take care of my previous contract and until a month after that I received the bill from my previous company I found out he didnt do it .. The installation was not done properly and I had to wait two weeks feo them to sent someone to fix the door bell . Then someone broke into my car and their cámara never captured who broke into my car.. next not all the sensors present in my house were program to the system . They promise to refund the first month back . So far was not done .. its over 30 days. Nothing works as they promise and Im on a 5 year contract, I dont feel save or protected in my own house .

User's recommendation: Cancel right away if the equipment is not working properly.

View full review
ID
#3031722 Review #3031722 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
San Bernardino, California
Loss
$2000
Preferred solution
Feeling safer in my own house.

Unhappy…this is a scam!!!!

We have been scammed by this company..All I say is dont do it..They have a script that is followed I suppose..All I can say is I need medication after my interaction with this companyThey should be shame..Now Im looking like dang itWe are in a pandemic its stupid for me to have even opened my doorThey play on women who are home alone..Awful..Awful.Aweful

User's recommendation: Nooooooo….it’s a setup for potential bad credit.

View full review
ID
#3006068 Review #3006068 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Carlsbad, California
New Reviewer

Scammed

Answered door this young man told me there was a one day special ending I less than 10 minutes, came in told me I was getting 3 months free service then did a softcheck with last 4 of my SS #,then told me he was just notified that I am eligible for a free system but only had 3 minutes to get all information in needed full SS # ,swiped really fast down phone to where I needed to sign for this amazing opportunity.. Well all lies the guy applied for a credit card without my knowledge so now I have 2 payments coming out of my acct. monthly, haven't used system once

User's recommendation: Stay away.

View full review
ID
#3003924 Review #3003924 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Melbourne, Florida
Product
Vivint Security System
Loss
$100
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Charge for Service Never Received

I bought a home that had a very extensive Vivint security system. A technician came out to activate it in my name. It NEVER worked and the technician left frustrated and promised I wouldn't be charged. Well, I was charged. They refused to refund my money because the technician didn't leave any notes that it didn't work. I asked them to check to see if it ever connected to the central system and was told "that's another department" which is a story I've gotten many times when I call them. They play a cat and mouse game so they can get paid without providing any service. This company is a rip-off.

User's recommendation: Don't buy it.

View full review
ID
#2998135 Review #2998135 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Scottsdale, Arizona
Loss
$150
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer
this is the third time my planal went off in the middle of the night when we were asleep. This time it went off 4am and would not shut off. I never got a call from vivint security to see what the problem was and was every thing okay. When I called I was on hold for 10...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2976147 Review #2976147 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Get two more cameras that were on the contract.

I would to get two cameras more as a vivint agent proposed us at the generated quote. Please let me know what to do in order to have them. Thank you so much!
View full review
ID
#2922763 Review #2922763 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Miami, Florida
I called back in July that my aunt had passed away and we needed to cancel services and that her home was being sold. I noticed that the bank account was charged on July 22. I called several times and was told they would look into it. Finally, I called again and was...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2898583 Review #2898583 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
North Augusta, South Carolina

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Horrible service, lies from them about equipment

Original review updated by user Sep 21, 2021
Do not trust this company. Almost 60 days later I am still waiting on the DVR portion. When I called and asked them to pick up their equipment and give me a refund, they advised I only had 3 days to test out the system - but I still don't have the entire system. How is anyone supposed to make an informed decision without all of the equipment? I even offered to pay a restocking fee but they wouldn't budge. 117 minutes on the phone for them to finally agree to credit my account for the DVR I still don't have + 4 months service. You'd think I was asking them to give me a million bucks with the tenacity they defended their decision. Worst. Service. Ever. See also the $20M settlement with the FTC for their BS from this year!

User's recommendation: Look at the BBB review - they earned an "F".

View full review
ID
#2893537 Review #2893537 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Full refund

Problems with cancellation.

When I called to cancel they keep telling me about equipment upgrades and prices instead of giving me the information I was requesting. Now they say I owe them over $200.

User's recommendation: Go elsewhere.

View full review
1 comment
#2118760

I have been having the same issues. After calling (5) separate times regarding cancellation and refund for the property sold in November 2021.

Each Associate I spoke with had different answers. Called because Vivint took out the amount of $99.46 for both properties after confirming my request of cancellation that I was entitled to after December 16th per Associate I spoke with on 12/10/2021. Spoke with a Brooklyn 01/10/2022, who assured me she would take full responsibility for the mistakes made previously. Had to call back on 01/14/2022, because I received an email stating that my cancellation had been denied.

When I received email dated 11/17/2021 that it was confirmed. They kept asking for the code given to me from bank, in which I financed my equipment for our brand-new home in Topping, VA we had built in 2018. We thought we were doing something good by going with Security provider we already had experience with. However, they could not seem to understand that we had two accounts.

When we acquired the new service for the additional home, they turned off the Richmond properties services and offered a new doorbell as an apology for disconnecting the services. They stated that they thought it was a transfer. Services were restored and I didn't have a contract for the Richmond property because we were going to move to the current property as soon as we were able to sell during the Pandemic. It goes to show my loyalty meant nothing to Vivint [2010] I then spoke with a Wilson, who didn't care about me or how long I'd been with the Company, and he didn't try going over the notes telling me when I requested a supervisor, that they were all in a meeting.

Hung up called back and spoke with a young lady who then transferred me to John, a Team leader/Supervisor.

He tried to tell me I had a contract on the Richmond Property and that to make it go away he would do away with the contract and not refund me my money. Then he advised he would escalate it and it would take 24-48 hours for them to make a decision.

ID
#2889908 Review #2889908 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Zzz
Loss
$109

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

EXTREMELY POOR SERVICE

A tech spent 3 1/2 hours at the house fixing the cameras and other items. THE VERY NEXT DAY THE CAMERAS WERE NOT WORKING &;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; I WAS ABLE TO VIEW INTO SOMEONE ELSE'S LIVING ROOM!!! THE TECH CHANGED MY PIN # W/O MY PERMISSION SOMEHOW THE TECH CHANGED MY PIN #. H HE WASS
View full review
ID
#2889781 Review #2889781 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • There are no pros
Cons
  • Problem that is fixed shows up the next day
  • Quality of work is poor
  • System breaks down often
Loss
$1000
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Resolved: Pay Vicente to waste your time

Update by user Oct 20, 2021

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with discount on future orders. Vivent finally sent a service person after 2.5-years of calling and complaints.

Turns out the original install had some issues. Once they were fixed (in less than 2-hours) the system works ok. Its a bit overpriced vs.

some of the better capabilities of less expensive security solutions but at least I have an operational security system. Vivint gave me a small discount fr my next billing cycle as well..

Original review posted by user Sep 20, 2021
I have been a customer of Vivint for 2.5-years and have never had a properly functioning security system. Each time I call they set me in hours of me completing their troubleshooting and technical support, that never ends. Its the biggest scam Ive ever been involved with. They give you hours of pointless task with a person on the phone in India (w/ a baby crying in the background) and just keep instructing you to get more tools to disassemble yet another hardware component until eventually you hang up. Ive logged 70-hours of technical support in 2.5-years and they always need more time. If my home is broken into, the liability will be astronomical. Worst business ever. Do yourself a favor and go with any other security company.

User's recommendation: Use any other company.

View full review
Resolved
ID
#2888394 Review #2888394 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • No pros
Cons
  • All things about the company
  • Customer service
Loss
$4500
Preferred solution
Terminate contract. Take all the equipment and refund me for the faulty eqyipment

Uncontrollable beeping tonight

I came home this evening to constant beeps even though there was no evident problem. I had a similar event recently and it seemed to be notifying me about a low battery somewhere in the system. Now we have many beeps and I have found no way to stop them. My location is 1121 NW 185th St. in Edmond, OK, a suburb of Oklahoma City. My billing from Vivint is remotely done and I no longer have access to the old files which contained suggestions for stopping such an event so we can sleep. I have also changed phones during the past year and am best called at (405)906-****. I suppose I can shut off the alarm if you e-mail me my pin code, which I have not used in years. Hoping for peace and quiet, David E. Boliver
View full review
ID
#2886653 Review #2886653 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
New Reviewer

Poor quality of service

System has been installed for six months now and i have to reset it every 12 hours plus lose a use of one camera. Vivint has thrown new smoke detectors, new software and idiots at the system and not resolved the issue. Waiting for 36 hours now for an appointment, a technician to schedule an appointment. Guess they are in no hurry. Had better service with a different provider. Will not recommend tshis company to anyonse

User's recommendation: depends on how much longer i have to wait for service, but this is not highly recommended.

View full review
ID
#2874316 Review #2874316 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Pueblo, Colorado
Service
Vivint Installation
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

Lack of transparency

Salesman reviewed equipment and services. My son and I wanted to see the "fine print" and review the contract before saying "yes". The salesman said we couldn't see it unless we completed paperwork as needed when purchasing. Could not read the contract prior to saying, "yes". Lack of transparency. Son told me they are rated "F" on BBB.

User's recommendation: don't sign until you read the contract.

View full review
ID
#2861665 Review #2861665 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Kyle, Texas

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Alarm charge dispute

Hi there my name is Rob Gunson, I was told to email you by another employee so we can talk about an alarm charge that I was not resposible for. If you could please call me back at 250-571-**** that would be greatly appreciated Rob Gunson/ catherine Ramsay robertjgunson@***.com 250-571-**** 330 Sunhill crt Kamloops BC V2e2p4
View full review
ID
#2843317 Review #2843317 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Price
  • Equipment on a par with other service providers
  • Service
Cons
  • Supervisor and his response
Loss
$300
Preferred solution
Full refund